Skip to content Skip to footer

House Party! An Introduction to the
12 Houses of Astrology

Astrologers refer to the concept of houses to understand the different areas of life and experience that a person may be facing. The houses are 12 divisions of the sky that correspond to different domains of human existence, such as home and family, communication and learning, relationships and partnerships, and personal growth and transformation, among others.

I use the houses as part of a birth chart, which is a map of the sky at the moment of a person’s birth. The positions of the planets, signs, and houses at the time of birth are believed to influence an individual’s personality, characteristics, and life path.

I view the houses as the “departments of life” in which the planets and signs operate. The planets represent the energies and motivations at work in a person’s life, while the signs indicate the quality or style in which these energies are expressed. The houses provide the context or environment in which these energies play out. Here is a quick cheat-sheet to help you keep things straight:

Planets = What
Signs = How
Houses = Where

For example, if the planet Venus is located in the 7th house of a birth chart (the house of partnerships and relationships), this may indicate a person who values harmony and connection in their relationships and who may be drawn to artistic or creative pursuits. The sign in which Venus is located (such as Taurus or Libra) would provide further information about the specific qualities and characteristics that this individual brings to their relationships.

It’s important to note that the houses are not the same as the signs of the zodiac, which are based on the 12 constellations of the zodiac. The houses are based on the position of the horizon and the location of the Ascendant (also known as the Rising Sign), which is the sign that was rising on the eastern horizon at the time of a person’s birth. The Ascendant and the houses rotate around the chart in a counterclockwise direction, with the 1st house starting at the Ascendant and the 12th house ending at the Ascendant.

Here is a brief overview of the 12 houses and their meanings in astrology:

1st House (The Ascendant): This house represents the self and the individual’s identity, as well as the physical body and personal appearance. It is associated with the sign rising on the eastern horizon at the time of birth, known as the Ascendant or Rising Sign.

2nd House: This house represents material possessions and financial resources, as well as personal values and self-worth. It is associated with the sign Taurus.
3rd House: This house represents communication, learning, and the exchange of ideas. It is associated with the sign Gemini.

4th House: This house represents home and family, as well as the foundations and roots of a person’s life. It is associated with the sign Cancer.

5th House: This house represents creativity, self-expression, and play. It is associated with the sign Leo.

6th House: This house represents work and daily routine, as well as health and well-being. It is associated with the sign Virgo.

7th House: This house represents partnerships and relationships, as well as the dynamic between the individual and the outside world. It is associated with the sign Libra.

8th House: This house represents transformation and regeneration, as well as the deeper, unconscious aspects of the self. It is associated with the sign Scorpio.

9th House: This house represents higher learning, philosophy, and spirituality, as well as long-distance travel and cultural experiences. It is associated with the sign Sagittarius.
10th House: This house represents career, public reputation, and one’s place in the world. It is associated with the sign Capricorn.

11th House: This house represents friendships, groups, and collective endeavors. It is associated with the sign Aquarius.

12th House: This house represents the unconscious mind, spirituality, and hidden enemies. It is associated with the sign Pisces.

The above house descriptions are very basic. In a future article I will write a more in-depth description of each house and the department of life that it represents. Until then remember that the houses are what make astrology personal.